If I was working in Sky Sports’ editing studio on Saturday night, I would have had a brilliantly apt song called ”The Boxer” by ex-Smiths front-man Morrissey lined up for the final credits.

The montage of Froch being KO’d by the still unbeaten Bute bringing an end to an illustrious career would have been accompanied by the oh-so ironic lyrics:

”Losing in front of your home crowd
You wish the ground
Would open up and take you down”

Fortunately for the 9,000 strong fans in Nottingham on Saturday night, Carl Froch had other ideas as he put in a career defining performance over the unbeaten Canadian based Lucian Bute.

Landing  at will, Froch hurt his opponent early on and Bute could never establish himself in the fight as he secured the IBF version of the super-middleweight title at Capital Arena.

Bute Tastes Defeat For The First Time

The end came in the fifth, with Bute trapped on the ropes after another stunning right hook from Froch, referee Earl Brown stepping in to save the outgoing champion from further punishment.

“After the Andre Ward defeat I was very deflated. I was here tonight to put right a wrong. I came here to do a job, I was so focused from the dressing room,” Froch told Sky Sports.

“A lot of people wrote me off, in the magazines, they’re re-writing the script. They’ve got Lucian Bute ranked number one, me ranked at four, so I want that rectified.

“The bookies got it wrong as well, a lot of people made money on me in Nottingham tonight”

The Cobra will now look to turn his attention to the possibility of a re-match with Dane Mikkel Kessler, one of only two men to defeat Froch in hos career.