Family Guy have indelibly linked Joaquin Phoenix with a re-count of the death of River Phoenix outside the Viper Room and the phrase ”hair-lipped reminder of what could have been”. It’s a shame that is what first comes to mind as I actually really admire him as a an actor.

Whether he’s rapping, trying to commit incest with a Roman-era sister or walking some kind of line he’s always been fantastic.

So when I heard of The Master, I have to admit I was pretty excited. When I saw the trailer I became even more-so because it’s one of the most unusual and intriguing trailers I’ve seen. It’s actually quite refreshing to see a trailer that doesn’t have an over the top explosion, naked woman or deluge of named actors in an attempt to draw you in.

Now don’t get me wrong . To quote Brain Fontana from Anchorman; ”I looove the ladies” but sometimes a film that requires some thought and your own opinion is nice.

Did I forget to mention that one of my top 5 all time actors stars here?

Yes Philip Seymour Hoffman is present as a charismatic intellectual who launches a religious organization following World War II. Phoenix, playing a drifter, becomes his right-hand man but as the faith begins to gain a fervent following, the drifter finds himself questioning the belief system and his mentor.

All sounds very much like Katie Holmes and Tom Cruise’s relationship.

The film is co-written and directed by Paul Thomas Anderson of Boogie Nights & There Will Be Blood fame and hits the screens this October.

Can’t wait!