Usually I try to break some new music that you haven’t heard before and introduce some unfamiliar artists but since The Rolling Stones are one of the greatest bands since the inception of music I thought why not feature Mick, Keef and the boys for this CoolCounterMusic?

The cut in question is ”Waiting On A Friend” which was released in 1981 from their Tattoo You album which was the follow-up to Emotional Rescue and it proved to be a huge critical and commercial success. Some might say it was the last great Stones album and it’s hard to argue.

The track reached #13 on the US singles chart and was released as the second single on Tattoo You after “Start Me Up”

The Stones hired jazz saxophonist Sonny Rollins to perform the solo on this song, as well as two others on the album. On his addition to the track, Jagger said in 1985:

I had a lot of trepidation about working with Sonny Rollins. This guy’s a giant of the saxophone. Charlie said, ‘He’s never going to want to play on a Rolling Stones record!’ I said, ‘Yes he is going to want to.’ And he did and he was wonderful. I said, ‘Would you like me to stay out there in the studio?’ He said, ‘Yeah, you tell me where you want me to play and DANCE the part out.’ So I did that