The Reaction Upon Hearing Sotheby’s Commission Rates

Some people and their money!! As much as I love this painting and I really do, I don’t know if I could:

A: Drop $119.9m or equivalent currency on a painting

B:Sleep soundly knowing I’d dropped $119.9m or equivalent currency while there are 3 other versions of The Scream painted by the artist, hanging in museums in Norway

C:Pay Sotheby’s the commission rate of 25 percent of the first $50,000; 20 percent of the next $50,000 to $1 million and 12 percent of the rest

Then again if I have $119.9m to spend on a painting I’m not sure if A,B and C would be applicable to me.

After all the fuss of the auction, it took a mere 12 minutes for the Edvard Munch’s iconic pastel to sell and in the process becoming the world’s most expensive piece of art to sell at auction.

The previous record was made two years ago at Christie’s in New York when Picasso’s “Nude, Green Leaves and Bust” sold for $106.5 million.

The beneficiary of the sale was none other than Petter Olsen, a Norwegian businessman and shipping heir whose father was a friend, neighbor and patron of the artist.

It’s always an heir that grabs the $$$.