Stephen Hendry tonight announced his retirement from the game of snooker following a one-sided defeat at the hands of Stephen Maguire. All god things have to come to an end sometime and it’s 2012 that see’s the seven time world champion retire.

It was Hendry’s 27th consecutive appearance at the World Championships and he capped it with a first-round 147 in the defeat of Stuart Bingham, while going on to dispatch reigning champion John Higgins in round two.

The fairy-tale wasn’t to be after the quarter-final defeat but the Scot leaves behind a slew of records. He mused upon announcing the retirement that ”the time is right for me. If I’d have won the title it would have been an even better way to go out. I’m delighted I made a maximum here, that’s why I was more animated than normal when making it. I was delighted to do it on my last appearance here”

In honor of that we’ve linked the video of the last great moment from the game’s greatest.